UNHCR’s Nansen Refugee Award 1069 views

Type of Funding





UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, is inviting nominations for the 2020 Nansen Refugee Award, which is an annual award recognizing individuals, groups or organizations that go beyond the call of duty in supporting refugees, internally displaced and stateless people. The Nansen Refugee Award aims to showcase the values of perseverance and conviction in the face of adversity.

Nominees should be heroes making a difference to the lives of families forced to flee their homes, or people/organizations which deserve recognition for selflessly devoting their time to the displacement cause.


The winner receives US$150,000 to invest in the winner’s humanitarian work. Four regional winners are also selected and honoured with a certificate.


Nominees can be individuals, groups or organizations, and the deed for which the person/entity is nominated should take place outside the framework of normal professional duties and go beyond the call of duty. The deed nominated for should be one that is courageous and raises awareness for displaced people, as well as reflect the values of UNHCR.

Nominations consist of a description of the nominee’s work and how they fulfil the selection criteria, including details of why the nominee should be considered, evidence that they have positively impacted the lives of the forcibly displaced and links to articles and publications as evidence.

Former and current NRC staff or UNHCR staff, including United Nations Volunteers (UNVs) working for UNHCR offices, are ineligible.


Nominations are to be submitted online by 9 February 2020.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise