UN SDG Action Challenge Awards 456 views

Type of Funding





The United Nations (UN) is calling on changemakers from all over the world to submit entries for the UN SDG Action Challenge Awards, which will recognize outstanding achievements and innovative efforts to promote action on UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Participants are to submit entries under 1 of the 7 following categories:

  1. Mobillizer
  2. Storyteller
  3. Communicator
  4. Visualizer
  5. Innovator
  6. Connector
  7. Includer

Members of the global SDG community will be invited to enter their projects, initiatives, networks and people for the chance win a UN SDG Action Challenge Award at the UN SDG Action Challenge Awards Ceremony on 21st March 2018 during the Global Festival of Action for Sustainable Development in Bonn, Germany to be held from 21 to 23 March 2018. Where applicable, award winners will also be invited to offer practical, hands-on workshop sessions at the Global Festival of Action for Sustainable Development to share their skills and good practices with participants.


Shortlisted finalists will be invited to attend the Global Festival of Action for Sustainable Development from 23 to 23 March 2018, in Bonn, Germany. The UN SDG Challenge Awards Ceremony will be held on 21 March 2018 where winners will be recognized for their achievements and all shortlisted finalists will be invited to participate in workshop sessions at the event to share their most inspiring lessons and practical advice with fellow SDG stakeholders.

Shortlisted finalists will receive invitations to join the event as speakers and participants, but would be required to cover their own travel and accommodation costs.

There will be an extra award issued to the ‘People’s Choice Award’ on the evening of the UN SDG Action Challenge Awards Ceremony. Festival-goers will pick their favorite submission that was not shortlisted by the judging panel, from any category.

All submissions will be featured in an SDG Challenge showcase on the Global Festival of Action for Sustainable Development website.


The Awards are open to individuals, civil society organizations, local governments and others who are taking actions to advance the 2030 Agenda.

One entry per person will be accepted although organisations can enter into multiple categories if different teams or  individuals led the work.

Eligible entrants for the different categories are as follows:

  • Mobilizer: Teams demonstrating successes with mobilizing citizens or volunteers to act for the SDGs.
  • Storyteller: Teams capturing powerful human stories to help communicate the importance of the SDGs to people’s lives.
  • Communicator: Creative or impactful communications campaigns (local/national/international) raising awareness about the SDGs and/or people’s voices and role in SDG action.
  • Visualizer: Entries should demonstrate innovative or impactful use of MY World or other citizen voices data to communicate with government or the public.
  • Innovator: Entries demonstrating creative and innovative use of new technologies for communicating SDGs.
  • Connector: Teams or individuals that have used innovative or impactful ways to bring multiple stakeholders together, or building networks, towards SDG Action.
  • Includer: This is a “Leave No One Behind” award, and entrants should be groups making extraordinary and impactful efforts to ensure that excluded groups become part of the SDG dialogue and implementation in their community.


Applications are to be done online by 15 January 2018.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise