International Merit Scholarship at Iowa State University for Undergraduates 543 views

Type of Funding

Partially funded




The Iowa State University is making available International Merit Scholarships to international undergraduate students entering as freshmen or transfer candidates in AY 2020, with an academic background of science, mathematics and social studies.

Those who enter as freshmen will be considered for the International Freshmen Merit Scholarships and those coming in as transfer candidates will be considered for the International Transfer Merit Scholarships.


The International Freshmen Merit Scholarships vary in value from US$2000 to US$10,000 per year, which is renewable. Freshman scholarship recipients will be funded for a maximum of 8 semesters, or completion of the degree, whichever comes first.

There are 2 levels of International Transfer Merit Scholarships – the Gold and Cardinal levels. The Gold scholarship award is US$8,000 per year, renewable, and the Cardinal scholarship award is US$4,000 per year, renewable. The scholarship awards are to be paid towards undergraduate tuition and fees. Transfer scholars will be funded for a maximum of 5 semesters, or completion of the degree, whichever comes first.

Renewal conditions are that scholars must maintain a minimum cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of 2.0 while enrolled at Iowa State and a continuous enrollment in a minimum of 12 semester credits each semester (summers not included). The award may only be used toward undergraduate tuition and fees.


Only students who are assessed non-resident tuition students (international students) are eligible for the scholarship awards.

International Freshmen Merit Scholarships: applicants must be international freshmen applicants who have been offered admission and they need to have submitted the necessary qualifying SAT or ACT scores.

International Transfer Merit Scholarships: applicants must have a cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) comparable to a minimum of 3.0 out of 4.0 (B). The SAT is not required, but if submitted, will be considered. The International Transfer Merit Scholarships are awarded to students who have demonstrated strong academic achievement, and outstanding talent or achievements in one or more of the following areas: math and sciences, the arts, extracurricular activities, community service, leadership, innovation, or entrepreneurship. Applicants need to submit a 500-word self-introduction essay to enable the scholarship committee to know them better and to state why they deserve the award. Alternatively, they could answer 1 of the questions listed on the scholarship application form.

Applicants for the Freshman studies at Iowa State must have at least 4 years of English education, or English is their mother tongue. They need to have studied 3 years of science (including at least 2 years of laboratory science courses which emphasize elements of biology, chemistry, or physics), 3 years of mathematics (including algebra and geometry) and 2 years of social studies.

Those who are transferring in need to have a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 2.75 in all transferable courses for engineering applicants and a minimum GPA of 2.3 for all other majors.


Applications for the scholarships are to be done online by 1 October 2019 for the Spring 2020 term and by 1 March 2020 for the Fall 2020 term.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise