Type of Funding

Fully funded




Those who wish to apply for Erasmus+ scholarships for the TEMA+ European Territories: Heritage and Development programme are invited to send in their applications for the Joint Master Course for AY 2020-2022.

TEMA+ is a two-year long (120 ECTS) bilingual (English and French) Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Course, coordinated from Eötvös Loránd University Budapest, in cooperation with the European Heritage Label (EHL) and different UNESCO organs. The mobility tracks of the students are divided among the coordinating universities (Semester 1) and the 4 partner universities (École des Hautes en Sciences Sociales in Paris, University of Catania, Charles University, Prague and Université Laval, Quebec for Semesters 2-3 and chosen individually for Semester 4 among the 5 universities). The consortium awards students with double or multiple degrees, all accredited on national level.

The TEMA+ aims to provide qualifications for entry into the professions in the area of European Heritage, in local, regional, national and territorial administration, in urban planning and research institutions, related to heritage and identity. In addition, the TEMA+ EMJMD seeks to create a European network of curriculum development and staff exchange among universities and research centres specialised in European Cultural Heritage studies.


The EMJMD student scholarship includes:

  • Contribution to the student participation costs (including the tuition fees, library and laboratory costs, full insurance coverage and any other mandatory costs related to the students’ participation in the Master) – up to €9000 per year per Partner Country scholar and up to €4500 per year per Programme Country scholar;
  • Contribution to student travel and installation costs – For scholars residing in Programme Countries, €1000 per year per scholar; for scholars residing in Partner Countries, €2000 per year for travel costs + €1000 for installation costs per scholar who stays less than 4,000km from the EMMC coordinating HEI and for those scholars resident in Partner Countries located 4,000 km  or more from the EMMC coordination HEI, they will each receive €3000 per year for travel costs + €1000 for installation costs. The contribution to the travel and installation costs takes into account only the residence of the scholar (regardless of the category under which the student has been enrolled). The contribution to installation costs is offered only to students residents of a Partner Country to help covering the additional costs related to the issuing of visas, residence permits, etc. as well as the temporary accommodation needs upon arrival in the first Programme Country hosting HEI.
  • Monthly subsistence allowance for the entire duration of the EMJMD study programme: €1000 per month. Contribution to subsistence costs will not be given to 1) for the EMMC periods (study /research /placement /thesis preparation) spent by scholars in their country of residence; 2) to scholars from a Partner country for the EMMC periods exceeding 3 months (the equivalent of 15 ECTS credits) spent in any Partner Country, including Canada.


Eligible applicants for Partner Country scholarships are students who are not nationals of an EU country, Iceland, Norway, Lichtenstein, Turkey or the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM).  In addition, they cannot be residents of these countries nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in any of these countries. The 5 year reference period for this 12-month rule is calculated backwards as from the submission deadline (defined by the consortia) of applying for an EMJMD student scholarship.  The 12-months residency rule should not apply to the Partner Country candidates who for various reasons and under various circumstances have sought refuge and received a refugee status in a Programme Country.

Eligible applicants for Programme Country scholarships are all other students who do not meet the criteria for Partner Country scholarships (this includes all nationals of the European Union, Iceland, Norway, Lichtenstein, Turkey and FYROM, as well as, people who have spent more than a total of 12 months in the EU over the last 5 years).

Students with a double nationality (of a Partner and of a Programme Country) must specify the nationality under which they submit their scholarship application.

The TEMA+ Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Course accepts candidates with various academic backgrounds and degrees (BA/MA, eventually PhD). The TEMA+ welcomes students at Masters level who have obtained a first higher education degree, a Masters degree or who demonstrate a recognised equivalent level of learning according to national legislation and practices in the degree awarding countries.

Applicants should possess a first degree (BA/BSc /180 ECTS/) or a Masters degree (MA/MSc/120 ECTS) in History, Geography, Philosophy, Anthropology, Ethnography, Sociology, Cultural Studies, Urban Studies, Architecture, Nationalism Studies, International Relations, Law, Economy, Administration, Languages or related fields.

As the TEMA+ programme is provided in English and in French, proficiency in these languages is a must. No work experience is required for admission to TEMA+ EMJMD. However, professional experience in a field related to the Master Course is an asset.


Scholarship applicants have to apply online by 23 February 2020. The deadline for self-paying students and other scholarship holders is 21 June 2020.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise