TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize 77 views

Type of Funding





The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is inviting nominations of women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) countries, who have been outstanding in their work in the field of social sciences, for the 2019 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize. This annual prize recognizes women scientists from STL countries and each year the field of sciences honoured will differ. For the 2019 prize, nominations are invited in the Social Sciences.


The winner will receive a cash award of US$4,000.


Nominees must be female scientists who are nationals of STL countries (see the Official Website for a list of STL countries), and who have been living and working there for at least 2 years immediately prior to their nomination, i.e. from 15 May 2017 to 15 May 2019.

Nominations must be accompanied by a supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution in Social Sciences. Supporting statements should explain in detail the work performed by the candidate and its significance in the relevant scientific context. Clear reference should be made to the scientific impact of the nominee’s work.

Self nominations are not accepted. Fellows of TWAS are not eligible.


Nominations are to be done online by 31 July 2019.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise