The Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund Education Grants for Women 949 views

Type of Funding





The Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund (MMMF) awards grants to women from developing and middle-income countries to further their education and strengthen the professional and leadership skills they need to improve the lives of women and children in the developing world. There are 3 regional programs for AY 2019 under The Education Grants: the US and Canada Program, the South Africa Program and the Latin America Program. These education grants are awarded to women who, upon completion of their degrees, intend to return to their countries and work to improve the lives of underserved women and children.

The purpose of these grants is to assist women from developing countries who are pursuing their education with the aim of improving the lives of women and children in their countries.


An MMMF grant covers only a portion of the total costs for an academic year. Grantees may use the grants for a range of financial needs, including research, travel, and living expenses. In past years, grants of up to US$15,000 have been awarded in the US/Canada program, and US$7,000 in the South Africa and Latin America programs.


General requirements: Eligible applicants are women 25 years old and above from low-income economies, lower-middle-income economies and upper middle-income countries (see the Official Website for eligible countries) currently enrolled at an accredited academic institution when submitting application; and plan to be enrolled for a full academic term after award of the grant. They must not be related to a World Bank Group, International Monetary Fund or Inter-American Development Bank staff member or spouse.

US and Canada:  In addition to the general requirements, applicants must already be enrolled as a full time student, with a relevant student visa, and plan to continue studying full time in the following academic year. They must not hold US citizenship or permanent residency (green card) or Canadian citizenship or Canadian landed immigrant status.

South Africa: Applicants applying from eligible countries other than South Africa must already hold a study permit for South Africa. In addition to the general requirements, applicants must already be enrolled part time (minimum of 2 courses per semester or term) or full time at 1 of the universities listed below, and be enrolled for the following academic year (January to December or September to May) at these universities:

  • University of the Witwatersrand
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Stellenbosch
  • University of Pretoria or
  • University of the Free State

Latin America:  In addition to the general requirements, applicants must be registered as part-time students (minimum of 2 courses per semester or term) or full-time, as well as be registered for a full academic term in 1 of the following selected Latin American Universities for the following academic year (February to December or September to May) in these universities:

  • University Austral, Argentina
  • Universidad Iberoamericana, Mexico
  • Catholic University of Peru, Peru
  • National University of Colombia, Colombia
  • Rafael Landívar University, Guatemala
  • FLACSO or
  • INCAE (Costa Rica and Nicaragua)


Applications are to be done online from from 15 April 2018 until 15 August 2018 for the Latin America Program; from 15 May 2018 to 14 September 2018 for the South Africa Program; and from 15 September 2018 to 15 January 2019 for the US and Canada Program.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise