OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World 392 views

Type of Funding





The Elsevier Foundation, the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) are calling for applications for the 2020 OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World. Applicants have to be early career women who have made significant contributions in the fields of Engineering and Technology, with evidence of innovation in these fields viewed particularly favourably. They have women scientists from developing countries in the 4 regions of: 1) Africa 2) the Arab region 3) Asia and Pacific and 4) Latin America and the Caribbean. The awards will help to enhance the visibility of research of the winners and bring about new research and career opportunities.

The awards rotate annually among the 3 disciplines of Biological Sciences, Engineering Sciences and Physical Sciences. The theme for 2020 (selected in 2019) is Engineering, innovation & technology.


There are a total of 5 awards a year, 1 for a winner from each of the abovementioned 4 regions, plus an additional “floating” award for an outstanding candidate from any of the 4 regions.

Each of the 5 winners will receive a cash prize of US$5,000 and all-expenses paid attendance at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) which will take place from 13 to 16 February 2020 in Seattle, USA.


Applicants must be female scientists who have received their PhD within the previous 10 years and be living and working for at least 5 of the last 15 years, in 1 of the scientifically lagging countries as defined by TWAS (see the Official Website for eligible scientifically lagging countries). They must be working in 1 of the following 2020 subject fields:

  • Civil engineering
  • Electrical engineering, electronic engineering
  • Telecommunications/information engineering / Software engineering
  • Computer science
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Chemical engineering
  • Materials engineering
  • Medical engineering
  • Environmental engineering
  • Environmental biotechnology
  • Industrial biotechnology and/or
  • Nano technology.

Those who have an active research grant or fellowship with The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) or have already submitted an application for a TWAS programme within the same year, are ineligible for this award.

Applications will be assessed on:

  • Scientific merit (eg. quality of publications)
  • International and regional impact (eg. invitations to present or chair at meetings; organization or participation on workshops; collaborations with scientists from other countries; national or regional awards received) and
  • Capacity building – local, national and regional (eg. evidence of running MSc or PhD training programmes; developing and providing resources for students and young researchers; mentoring activities).


Nominations are to be submitted online by 29 August 2019.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise