Type of Funding

Fully funded




Students from Commonwealth countries who wish to undertake a Masters degree programme in another Commonwealth country can now apply for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) 2019. Eligible programmes of studies are at leading Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) member universities in low and middle-income countries (LMICs) in the Commonwealth, in the following areas:

  • Arts and humanities
  • Medicine, health and life sciences
  • Physical sciences, engineering and mathematics
  • Social sciences

See the Official Website for participating universities and the courses offered. These awards will not be hosted in Canada, the UK or Australia.

The scholarships are for Masters study only and are not applicable to distance learning courses and are only for new students and cannot be used to fund a course that the applicant has already started on.


The fully funded scholarships are for a maximum of 2 years, providing tuition fees, a return economy flight, an arrival allowance, and a regular stipend (living allowance). Scholars may also receive a research support grant upon request and subject to approval. Scholars are responsible for finding, and paying for, their own accommodation, using their QECS stipend, unless stated otherwise.

Scholars benefit from a life-changing opportunity for cultural exchange and academic collaboration in unique environments and have the opportunity to act as ambassadors between home and host countries.


Applicants must be These scholarships are meant for students committed to creating change in their communities and contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Citizens of all Commonwealth countries (or those holding refugee status in Commonwealth countries) are eligible for the scholarships. However, applicants must apply for a QECS award in a country other than their home country/country of citizenship. There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award.

Applicants must hold a Bachelors degree of at least upper second level.


Applications are to be done online by 6 February 2019.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise