International Merit Postgraduate Scholarship at University of Sheffield 165 views

Type of Funding

Partially funded




The University of Sheffield is making available 46 scholarships under the International Merit Postgraduate Scholarship, to nationals from Africa, Latin America, Southeast Asia, Middle East, Canada, Egypt, India, Japan, Jordan, Nigeria, Pakistan, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Turkey and USA, undertaking eligible Masters programmes commencing September 2018.

The distribution of the scholarships is as follows:

  • East and South Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, South Africa, Tanzania and Mauritius): 3
  • Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Mexico, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela): 5
  • Middle East and North Africa (Lebanon, Syria, Iraq,  Oman, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Sudan, Algeria, Tunisia and Morocco): 1
  • South East Asia (Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam): 7
  • West Africa (Benin, Cameroon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo): 1
  • Brazil: 1
  • Canada: 1
  • Egypt: 1
  • India: 8
  • Japan: 2
  • Jordan: 1
  • Nigeria: 3
  • Pakistan: 4
  • South Korea: 2
  • Sri Lanka: 1
  • Taiwan: 2
  • Turkey: 1
  • USA: 2


The scholarship award is worth 50% of the annual postgraduate tuition fee, which will be applied as a tuition fee discount. The merit scholarship can be provided for a maximum of 2 full-time academic years, which does not include years in industry or year(s) abroad. For part-time students on Masters programmes that last longer than 1 year, the scholarship the scholarship will be pro-rated for a maximum of 4 years.


Applicants must be nationals or permanent residents of the above-named eligible countries who are undertaking Masters programmes commencing September 2018. Applicants must be self-funded students paying the overseas tuition fee, who are not sponsored. Only those who have received an offer for a full-time or part-time Postgraduate Masters programme studied in full at the University of Sheffield only, by 15 June 2018, and who have accepted the offer by 22 June 2018, are eligible. Masters programmes split between the University of Sheffield and a partner institution are not eligible

Those studying a Masters/integrated PhD programme are eligible for a merit scholarship in the Masters element of the programme only. Postgraduate Diploma (PGDip) and Postgraduate Certificate (PGCert) courses as well as distance learning courses are ineligible for a merit scholarship. All Crossways courses and Erasmus Mundus courses are also ineligible.

The scholarships are not applicable to any postgraduate course where the higher clinical fee is applicable, which includes, for example, the following courses: DClinDent Orthodontics; MClinDent in Orthodontics; DClinDent Endodontics; MClinDent in Paediatric Dentistry; DClinDent Periodontics; MMedSci in Diagnostic Oral Pathology; and DClinDent Prosthodontics.


Eligible applicants will be provided with details on how to apply for the scholarship, within 5 working days of receiving the University’s offer for a Masters course. Scholarship applications must be done by 22 June 2018.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise