Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for SUTROFOR 202 views

Type of Funding

Fully funded




Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus Scholarships are available for those who wish to undertake the 2-year Masters course in Sustainable Tropical Forestry (SUTROFOR) commencing AY 2019.

The SUTROFOR MSc Course is offered by a consortium of 5 best European universities within the field of forest and nature management:

  • University of Copenhagen, Faculty of Science, Department of Food and Resource Economics, Copenhagen (Denmark)
  • Bangor University, School of the Environment and Natural Resources, Bangor (UK)
  • Dresden University of Technology, Institute of International Forestry and Forest Products, Tharandt (Germany)
  • AgroParisTech, Paris Institute of Technology for Life, Food and Environmental Sciences, Montpellier (France) and
  • University of Padova, TESAF Department, School of Agriculture, Padova (Italy)

The SUTROFOR Consortium also includes 4 non-European associate partners: Tribhuvan University in Nepal, Sokoine University of Agriculture in Tanzania, Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza in Costa Rica and Makerere University, Uganda.


Partner Country Scholarships: Scholars will receive €2000 per year travel costs for those who are residents of a Partner Country which location is less than 4000 km away from the Erasmus Mundus Masters Course (EMMC) coordinating higher education institution (HEI). For those who are from a location 4000 km or more from the EMMC coordinating HEI, the travel costs per year will be €3000. They will also receive €1000 for installation costs and €1000 per month in contribution towards subsistence costs for the entire duration of the Masters programme (24 months).

Programme Country Scholarships: Scholars will receive €1000 per year travel costs. They will also receive €1000 per month in contribution towards subsistence costs for the entire duration of the Masters programme (24 months).

However, the contribution to subsistence costs will not be given to all scholars for the EMMC periods spent in their country of residence for studies, research, placement, or thesis preparation, and to Partner Country Scholars for the EMMC periods exceeding 3 months spent in any Partner Country.





Students eligible for Partner Country scholarships are nationals from countries other than the EU member states and the EEA/EFTA states (Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway). They must comply with the 12 months rule, namely, that they cannot be a resident or have carried out main activity (studies, work etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in EU member countries and the EEA/EFTA states.

Students eligible for Programme Country Scholarships are the SUTROFOR students who do not fall under the Partner Country category.

Both Partner and Programme country scholars must study in 2 of the abovenamed Consortium Partner countries, and these 2 countries must be different from the home country. Those who stay in their home country during the 2-year period of the MSc programme are not entitled to the monthly scholarship payment.

Applicants for the SUTROFOR must have completed a Bachelors degree or are enrolled in the final semester of a Bachelors programme and need to be proficient in English. Those with a Bachelors degree in a relevant area, e.g. forestry, agriculture, biology, geography, economics, are directly academically qualified for admission to the MSc Programme.


Non-EU applicants are to submit their applications between 15 October 2018 and 15 January 2019. EU/EEA applicants are to submit their applications between 16 January 2019 and 1 March 2019.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise