Type of Funding





The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge and Culture Awards for 2018 will recognize excellence and creativity in the 8 categories of:

  • Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  • Biology and Biomedicine
  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Ecology and Conservation Biology
  • Climate Change
  • Economics, Finance and Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences and
  • Music and Opera


The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge and Culture Awards will consist of €400,000, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each prize category. In the event that an award is shared by more than 1 person, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all recipients.


Individuals of any nationality are eligible for nomination. Scientific or cultural organizations with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the fight against climate change, are also eligible.

Nominations should be made by: scientific or artistic societies or organizations, national or regional academies of the sciences or the arts, public or private R&D centers, university departments and schools and university or research institutes, hospital departments and biomedical research centers, science museums, conservatories and schools of music, scholarly music and musicology journals, orchestras and orchestra associations, radio and television broadcasters running symphony or chamber orchestras, public agencies and international, national or regional organizations substantially engaged in analysis and/or activities relating to climate change and development cooperation. The same institution may nominate more than 1 candidate but candidates can only be nominated for 1 category.

Winners of the Nobel Prize in any of its categories and past winners of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards can make nominations. The BBVA Foundation may also invite nominations from researchers and cultural creators who have made outstanding contributions in their respective fields.


Nominations are to be submitted online by 28 June 2018.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise