Arrell Global Food Innovation Awards 329 views

Type of Funding





The Arrell Global Food Innovation Awards, which recognize global excellence in food innovation and community impact, is inviting nominations for the 2019 Awards. The Awards serve to honour global leaders who are ensuring future food security for the planet, in the hope that this will inspire new leaders to take bold steps towards change.

There are 2 awards:

  • Scientific Award: Award to recognize a researcher, or group of researchers, who has advanced understanding of food production, processing, distribution, consumption, safety and/or human nutrition, with a significant positive impact on society.
  • Community Award: Award to recognize an individual, or group of individuals, who has contributed to improved nutritional health and/or food security, with a focus on strengthening disadvantaged communities.


The winner of each Award will receive a prize worth $125,000 CAD, comprising $100,000 cash for the personal use of recipients and up to $25,000 for travel and accommodation of the recipients. The winners will also receive an award citation and a commemorative item.

Recipients are expected to participate in a program of events. In particular, in May 2019, award recipients will give a lecture at the University of Guelph and participate in the Arrell Food Summit in late 2019. There will also be other speaking engagements organized, subject to mutual


Eligible themes for the scientific award are: food science, the environmental impact of agriculture, crop or livestock genetics, agro-ecology, soil health, food animal health and production, pest management, supply chain management, food processing, food packaging, food safety, food consumption, human nutrition, food retail/marketing.

Eligible themes for the community award include: food sovereignty, food production, food distribution/access, food insecurity, community development and governance, household nutrition, urban poverty, Aboriginal food security, non-traditional food systems, socioeconomic policy, empowerment of under-served communities, food and nutrition literacy.

Individual or group nominees must have made exceptionally significant and documented contributions to either the scientific understanding related to food production, distribution and sales, or human nutrition/consumption; and/or at the community level in markedly improving nutrition, including access to, or distribution of food.

The nomination package must clearly demonstrate how the individual or group being nominated played a critical leadership role in achieving the above noted contributions. Nominees must be able to attend the award ceremony and ancillary events.

Citizens of any country are eligible for nomination, with no restrictions on gender, race, religion, creed or residency.

Nominations may come from private companies, academic institutions, governmental units, charitable foundations, and not-for-profit organisations. In the case of multiple nominations from a single organization, only the 1 with the latest date will be accepted.


Nominations are to be sent via email by 31 January 2019.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise