AFoCO Landmark Graduate Scholarship Program in Forestry 534 views

Type of Funding

Fully funded




The ASEAN-ROK Forest Cooperation (AFoCO), a regional cooperation in the forest sector between ASEAN Member States and the Republic of Korea, is inviting nationals of the 10 AFoCo Member Countries of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam, to apply for the 2019 AFoCo Landmark Scholarship Program. There will be 3 scholarships awarded for studies in forestry in participating universities in the Republic of Korea commencing March 2018 – 1 for PhD and 2 for MSc studies.

Candidates must be applying for eligible programmes offered by the following 9 participating universities (see the Official Website for all eligible programmes):

  • Chungbuk National University
  • Chungnam National University
  • Dongguk University
  • Kangwon National University
  • Kongju National University
  • Kookmin University
  • Seoul National University
  • University of Seoul and
  • Yeungnam University

Eligible fields of study include: Environment and Forest Resources; Biological and Environmental Science; Forest Management; Forestry and Environmental Systems; Landscape Architecture Design; Forest Resources; Forest Environmental Science; Environmental Horticulture; and Sustainable Development.


Masters scholarships will be awarded for 4 semesters and the PhD scholarship will be awarded for 6 semesters, both commencing March 2019. One additional year of support may be granted for PhD studies.

The total annual value of the scholarship is maximum US$22,150 per MSc scholar and US$22,500 per PhD scholar, per year. This includes payment for airfare and transportation for AFoCO meetings; a settlement allowance; a monthly allowance; medical insurance; tuition and textbook fees; an academic conference allowance; language training fee; graduation examination fee and dissertation printing expenses; and journal publication. Please see the Official Website for detailed breakdown of scholarship coverage.


Scholarship applicants must be citizens of the 10 AFoCo Member Countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. Applicants who have enrolled in or graduated from a university for an undergraduate, a Masters or a doctoral program in the Republic of Korea (ROK) are not eligible.  Applicants should be in good health, both mentally and physically, to stay in the ROK for an extended period of time. Disabled individuals who satisfy the requirements are eligible.

Applicants for the Masters programs must hold at least a Bachelors degree or equivalent, or higher than a Bachelors degree. Applicants for the PhD program must hold at least a Masters degree or equivalent, or higher than a Masters degree. Minimum Grade Point Average (G.P.A.) of the Bachelors/Masters degree that an applicant must have achieved in order to apply for the relevant program is 80 of the 100 points scales. All candidates must meet the language proficiency admission requirements of the 9 universities in either Korean or English (see the Official Website for language qualification requirements). Applicants need to submit a certificate of English test score (TOEFL, TOEIC, IELTS, TEPS), or any other international and domestic English score.

Preference may be given to applicants who:

  • Have knowledge of forestry of their countries;
  • Are currently working in forestry institutions or are involved in academic work in a field of forestry in their countries;
  • Previously majored in forestry;
  • Possess English or Korean proficiency;
  • Have a higher grade point average (G.P.A.) than other applicants;
  • Submit a study plan with a well-organized research plan;
  • Possess a study plan for learning forestry in the ROK;
  • Clearly state their career goals and have a plan for attaining them; and/or
  • have been awarded and/or have published academic papers.


The Focal Person of each AFoCO Member Country is to nominate 1 candidate and submit the nomination to the AFoCO Secretariat by 30 June 2018, and nominated candidates are to submit their application documents to the AFoCO Secretariat, also by 30 June 2018.

What is DevWise?

DevWise is an online portal created for people studying in and working for the international development sector. Our goal is to help you find opportunities that enable you to engage in development studies/work better.

Subscribe to the newsletter!

We respect your privacy. We will never share your information with others.

 More about Devwise